One Strength Training Benefit People Aren’t Aware Of

Egis R.
4 min readSep 2, 2022
Image by the author

I have been listening to the Iron Culture podcast since I was an embryo and keto extremists were still normal human beings. The latest episode I listened to had Chad Landers, 2018 NSCA Personal Trainer of the Year, as a guest speaker. The episode achieved peak levels of awesomeness when he said:

“I had a client who started training with me when she was 87. I trained her daughters and her son-in-law and they came to me when she turned 87 and they said, “Mom started to slow down a little bit, we think she would benefit from training.” And I trained her all the way until she was 95 until she passed away. And I saw her continue to get stronger even into her 90s and one of the things that always I talked about was:

“I want you to be able to go to any public restroom and not get stuck on the toilet. Because some public restrooms out there in the middle of nowhere, you might be traveling, that are really really low. And I don’t want you to have that…”

You know, I wouldn’t say all these words to her. I wouldn’t talk about being embarrassed but my feeling for her is as if she is like my grandma. I wouldn’t want my grandma to be stuck on the toilet in the middle of somewhere and have to call for help. I don’t want her to have to do that.”

--

--

Egis R.

I’m Egis, an online weight loss coach who has heightened BS sensors for fitness & nutrition. Only evidence-based & sustainable fat loss. www.absscience.com